Good Eats

Oklahoma joe's BBQ Kansas City Barbecue

A few weeks ago I had the opportunity to visit my sister in Kansas City.  Being a Californian, I really didn’t know what to expect in the Midwest.  To my pleasant surprise, it was actually a really fun and an enjoyable experience.  Being the foodie that I am, Kansas City is known to have the best barbeque in the U.S!  According to Anthony Bourdain, Oklahoma Joe’s Barbecue was a definite must try when visiting Kansas City.   I love hole-in-the-wall food joints.  I feel like they have the best, most authentic food than the big-chain restaurants.  Oklahoma Joe’s was definitely unique since it was located in a gas station!  Below is the pulled pork sandwich I ordered.  Nomz!

Fries BBQ Oklahoma Joe's Pulled Pork Food

Barbecue Fries BBQ Pulled Pork food Good Eats Oklahoma Joe's

Good Eats Oklahoma Joe's Brunt Ends BBQ Barbecue World Famous

Oklahoma Joe’s is also known for their burnt ends, pictured above.  Get there early, once they are out of brunt ends, they no longer will serve them for the rest of the day.

Good Eats BBQ Ribs Barbecue Oklahoma Joe's

Mud Pie Vegan Bakery Coffeehouse Desserts Coffee Kansas City Good Eats

Chai tea Good Eats Dessert Mud Pie Vegan Bakery

After a long day of sightseeing, we stumbled upon a cute little neighborhood which really reminded me of San Francisco.  They had fun little boutiques and coffee shops in that area.  We decided to grab some afternoon snacks at Mud Pie Vegan Bakery & Coffeehouse.   I personally love vegan good, so when we found this cute spot, I was super excited.  I had a latte and a delicious pineapple glaze Bundt cake.

Kansas City Fields

I wanted to randomly add this picture in to give you guys an idea of how my sister’s neighborhood looked like.  This is a field right next door to her neighborhood.  In Kansas City, everything is wide, open, and green.  Lots of fields everywhere.  There are also numerous horses and deer’s roaming around all over the place.  I definitely look forward to visiting this lovely city again soon!!

Kansas City Midwest Green Fields Summer

Leave a Reply

