Peru Part II – Sacred Valley

Sacred Vally Cusco RLRBI’ve finally got around to post Part II of my Peru adventure this past November!  If you missed Part I, check it out here.  This time I’ll be sharing my SACRED VALLEY adventures.  Work has been super crazy busy for me these past two weeks, that I’ve been left to feel nothing but nostalgic over all my travels. I really reallllly miss Peru. It was so peaceful, relaxing, and a reminder for me that there is so much beauty in a simple life.

Pisac Ruins Peru DSC_0554You know, just frolicking around the ruins.Pisac ruins cusco peruPart of my tour of the Sacred Valley was a stop at the Pisac Ruins. If you are ever in the Cusco region, I definitely suggest you check these ruins out. They were breathtaking and our guide enriched us with so many facts and history about this area. The inca civilizations were so self-sufficient and brilliant engineers.  I fell in love with the stone walls – the colors, shapes, everything!  The placement of each stone had a symbolic meaning.

Peruvian cornI’m drooling over the Peruvian corn.  The oversized kernels are described as chewier, starchier and less sweet than other types of sweet corn.  Peru harvest numerous types of corn.  They are distinct from all the others because of their huge kernels.

RLRBRuins Peru Travel RLRNMy cubicle for the day wasn’t too shabby.

Ollantaytambo Ruins Peru RLRN Ollantaytambo ruins RLRBWe then explored the Ollantaytambo Ruins. To get to these ruins were about 30 minutes from Pisac.  Prepare to walk up a ton of stairs to get to the top.  However, it was all worth it.  Again, the architecture and construction of all these ruins never ceases to amaze me.  It was love at first sight.

DSC_0563 Pisac Ruins RLRB cusco IMG_4593 Pisac market rlrb Last stop of our Sacred Valley tour was the Pisac Market.  Pisac is a pretty village and has plenty of small handicraft shops and is worth a visit on any day of the week. There are local buses departing from Cusco every 15 minutes for the one hour ride to Pisac village.  One thing I am OBSESSED with are all the Peruvian textiles.  I meaaaaaan, if I could buy this whole market, I probably would.  I appreciate and adore all the efforts that go into making handmade products.  There is so much more history and meaning towards them.  The style and they way they mix colors are amazing.  I love the bright funky colors and designs.  You know I did some damage at this market. 🙂

Stay tuned for more of my Peru adventures…..!!!

 

Leave a comment